But I

Connections, they may be fleeting or last a lifetime, but they help give our life meaning or at least I think so.

My friends are very important to me. I wrote these words on a train journey home following a happy weekend spent with one such friend and his lovely wife, I hope he realises he is as precious to me as I believe I am to him.

But I

I cannot give solutions to all of life’s problems, doubts, or fears.

But I can listen to you, and together we shall search for your answers.

The decisions are then yours to consider, yours to choose, yours to make.

But I can support you, encourage you, help you.

I cannot change your past with all it’s heartache and pain, nor the future with its untold stories and new adventures.

But I can be there now, when you need someone to connect, to share, to understand.

I cannot keep your feet from stumbling.

But I can offer my hand that you may grasp it and not fall.

I cannot tell you who you are.

But I can give you the room to discover, the room to grow, the room to be yourself.

Your joys, triumphs, successes are not mine.

But I hope to always share in your laughter.

4 thoughts on “But I

  1. Hi Jude,

    wouldnt let me again.

    You do it please?

    Beautiful words from a beautiful soul, and I dont believe youve only just realised!!!! Pshaw!!

    ________________________________

    Like

Leave a Reply

